How to Open Revit Project Files
Revit Project files should never be opened directly through Windows Explorer by double clicking on the file, or dragging the file onto the Revit window. This method of opening bypasses many important options that are available when opening a Revit file. For example, if the file has Worksharing enabled, doing this on the Central File would open it directly. If you were working in the central file directly, a corruption could ruin the file for the whole office.
Instead always use the Open Project command from within Revit.
Open a Project
Step by Step Guide:
Select Models ► Open … to open the browse and select window
Now browse to and select the model you would like to open.
01-When you select a file, you will see a Preview image showing the last saved view, and the version of Revit the model was saved in.1,2
02-When selecting a Workshared file the Worksharing check boxes will be enabled. The different options include:
Detach from Central & Create New Local greyed out
Worksharing is not enabled. Only one person can work on this file at a time.Detach from Central & Create New Local available
Worksharing is enabled. This is a Central File. Create New Local should be ticked automatically, which is the correct way to open this file.Detach from Central available but Create New Local is greyed out
Worksharing is enabled. This is a Local File. Generally you should create a new local file each day from the central file, as opposed to continually opening the same local file each day.
03-Use the Audit option, to conduct a validation check of all elements in the Revit model database.
When Worksharing is enabled the Arrow next to the Open button allows you to select Workset options prior to opening:
Choose to open “All” Worksets. This would open the full model.
Choose to open “Editable” Worksets. This would open only Worksets that are checked out. NEVER USE THIS OPTION.
Choose to open “Last Viewed” Worksets. NEVER USE THIS OPTION.
Choose to open “Specify…” Worksets. This is the preferred option for Workshared files. The Workset dialog will be displayed prior to opening the file allowing you to specify which Worksets are required. By only opening parts of the model you require it can greatly increase the performance of the model and open time.
Select the Open button to open the model. If this is a Workshared model, then a local file with your username will now be created. If not, the model will be opened directly.
WARNING:
DO NOT upgrade a model to a newer version unless it has been approved by the entire project team including client and consultants.
Always create an archive copy of the model before a version upgrade.