How to Setup a Project for Worksharing

How to Setup a Project for Worksharing

To allow multiple users to work on a single Revit Project file you will need to enable Worksharing.  This section outlines this process.

Collaborate within your Network

Step by Step Guide:

  1. Select the Collaborate tab.

  2. On the “Manage Collaboration” Panel select the “Collaborate” button.

  3. Choose “Collaborate within your network” and select OK.

  4. 2 User Created Worksets will automatically be created.
    Shared Levels & Grids ► All datums will be added to this User Created Workset
    Workset1 ► All model elements will be added to this User Created Workset (Rename as Architectural)
    If you have a large project there may be a need to further break up the User Created Worksets to give you greater control over the model for performance reasons.  In this case, follow the below sub-steps to add New User Created Worksets.

    1. Select the Worksets button.

    2. Select New

    3. Give the Workset a name as per the Company Workset Structure and Naming.

    4. Select OK.

    5. Repeat until all Worksets are created.

    6. Select OK to close the Worksets dialog

    7. Select any model geometry and edit its Worksets instance parameter to move it to the appropriate User Created Workset.

  5. Save As the File. You will receive a warning message advising:
    This is the first time that the project has been saved since Worksharing was enabled. This project will therefore become the central model. Do you want to save this project as the central model?
    Select Yes.

  6. Select Options and set the Maximum Backups to 10, or an appropriate number for your project.  This essentially how far you can roll the file back if needed.  Select OK and choose Save.

  7. You are now in the central file and are the “Owner” of all the User Created Worksets so no one else can work on the file as yet.  Select, “Relinquish All Mine” to free the Worksets up.

  8. It is strongly recommended that you never work directly in the Central File.  So now Close the file down.

  9. Select Open and browse to the Central File you just created.  You will now note when you click on the file in the window that the Worksharing options are enabled:

    Open the file with the “Create New Local” option selected.

  10. Congratulations, you have now successfully enabled Worksharing and can continue to work on the model, ensuring you are working within the appropriate User Created Workset at all times. Other users can also create their own Local files and continue working.

NOTES:

  1. New User Created Worksets should not be created without direct permission from the Revit Manager.

  2. Place Linked files on their own User Created Workset.  This way you can open the file without opening the link, or any need to unload it.

  3. DO NOT use Worksets for visibility control.  They are not a pseudo Layers tool.

Related articles